$ 2.99

A fourth century BC Greek Peripatetic philosopher, Aristoxenus was the pupil of Aristotle and is now regarded as the first authority of musical theory in the classical world. Although he wrote almost 500 works, only Aristoxenus’ landmark treatise on music, ‘Elements of Harmony’, survives in a significant state. It is of invaluable worth, providing the chief source of knowledge on ancient Greek music. Delphi’s Ancient Classics series provides eReaders with the wisdom of the Classical world, with both English translations and the original Greek texts. This comprehensive eBook presents Aristoxenus’ complete extant works, with illustrations, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Category: Tag:
Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Aristoxenus and his times
* Features the complete extant works, in both English translation and the original Greek
* Concise introduction to ‘Elements of Harmony’
* Henry Stewart Macran’s 1902 translation, digitised here for the first time
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Easily locate the sections you want to read with individual contents tables
* Includes rare Greek fragments of Aristoxenus’ works
* Features Macran’s seminal study of the development of ancient Greek music, with numerous illustrations— first time in digital print


The Translation
The Elements of Harmony
The Greek Texts
The Elements of Harmony
The Biography
Introduction to Aristoxenus (1902) by Henry S. Macran

You may also like…