Carolyn Wells – US version

$ 2.99

Famous today as the creator of the reserved and scholarly detective Fleming Stone, Carolyn Wells was a prolific American writer of popular mystery novels, celebrated for their intricate plots and engaging characters. The first novel in the series, ‘The Clue’ (1909), features on the Haycraft-Queen Cornerstone list of essential mysteries. Throughout her career, Wells produced over 170 titles, including children’s stories, detective novels, anthologies and humorous and nonsense writings. This eBook presents Wells’ collected works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts appearing in digital print for the first time, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is only for sale to customers located in the US.  Please see the World version.

Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Wells’ life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* 64 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* The complete Patty Fairfield and Marjorie Maynard series
* Famous children’s books are illustrated with their original artwork
* Includes Wells’ rare poetry collections – available in no other collection
* Features Wells’ seminal non-fiction work ‘The Technique of the Mystery Story’
* Useful ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Fleming Stone Series
The Clue (1909)
The Gold Bag (1911)
A Chain of Evidence (1912)
The Maxwell Mystery (1913)
Anybody But Anne (1914)
The White Alley (1915)
The Curved Blades (1915)
The Mark of Cain (1917)
Vicky Van (1918)
The Diamond Pin (1919)
Raspberry Jam (1920)
The Mystery of the Sycamore (1921)
The Mystery Girl (1922)
Feathers Left Around (1923)
Spooky Hollow (1923)

The Alan Ford Series
The Bride of a Moment (1916)
Faulkner’s Folly (1917)

The Pennington Wise Series
The Room with the Tassels (1918)
The Man Who Fell Through the Earth (1919)
In the Onyx Lobby (1920)
The Come Back (1921)
The Luminous Face (1921)
The Vanishing of Betty Varian (1922)
The Affair at Flower Acres (1923)
Wheels within Wheels (1923)

The Patty Fairfield Series
Patty Fairfield (1901)
Patty at Home (1904)
Patty in the City (1905)
Patty’s Summer Days (1906)
Patty in Paris (1907)
Patty’s Friends (1908)
Patty’s Pleasure Trip (1909)
Patty’s Success (1910)
Patty’s Motor Car (1911)
Patty’s Butterfly Days (1912)
Patty’s Social Season (1913)
Patty’s Suitors (1914)
Patty’s Romance (1915)
Patty’s Fortune (1916)
Patty Blossom (1917)
Patty-Bride (1918)
Patty and Azalea (1919)

The Marjorie Maynard Series
Marjorie’s Vacation (1907)
Marjorie’s Busy Days (1908)
Marjorie’s New Friend (1909)
Marjorie in Command (1910)
Marjorie’s Maytime (1911)
Marjorie at Seacote (1912)

The Dorrance Family Series
The Dorrance Domain (1905)
Dorrance Doings (1906)

The Two Little Women Series
Two Little Women (1915)
Two Little Women and Treasure House (1916)
Two Little Women on a Holiday (1917)

Other Novels
Abeniki Caldwell (1902)
Eight Girls and a Dog (1902)
The Gordon Elopement (1904)
The Staying Guest (1904)
The Matrimonial Bureau (1905)
The Emily Emmins Papers (1907)
Dick and Dolly (1909)
Betty’s Happy Year (1910)
Ptomaine Street (1921)
Face Cards (1925)
The Deep-Lake Mystery (1928)

Short Stories
Christabel’s Crystal (1905)
An Easy Errand (1910)
The Adventure of the Mona Lisa (1912)
The Adventure of the Clothes-Line (1915)

The Poetry and Nonsense Works
The Jingle Book (1899)
A Phenomenal Fauna (1902)
Children of Our Town (1902)
A Parody Anthology (1904)
A Satire Anthology (1905)
Rubáiyát of a Motor Car (1906)
At the Sign of the Sphinx (1906)
At the Sign of the Sphinx: Second Series (1906)
A Vers de Société Anthology (1907)
The Seven Ages of Childhood (1908)
Rubáiyát of Bridge (1909)
A Nonsense Anthology (1910)
The Lover’s Baedeker and Guide to Arcady (1912)
The Re-Echo Club (1913)
The Eternal Feminine (1913)
The Book of Humorous Verse (1920)

The Non-Fiction
The Technique of the Mystery Story (1913)