François Rabelais

$ 1.99

The sixteenth century French writer François Rabelais is the author of the comic masterpiece ‘Gargantua and Pantagruel’, a work of immeasurable influence in the course of Western literature. Rabelais’ series of novels is outstanding for its rich use of Renaissance French and range of comedic registers, from the gross burlesque to profound satire. The novels exploit popular legends, farces and romances, as well as classical and Italian texts. Widely celebrated for their creative exuberance, colourful vocabulary and literary variety, Rabelais’ works have remained enduring classics throughout the ensuing centuries. This eBook presents Rabelais’ complete works, with numerous illustrations, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)


Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Rabelais’ life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All of the novels, with individual contents tables
* Translated by Thomas Urquhart and Peter Antony Motteux
* Features Gustave Doré’s celebrated illustrations for the Gargantua and Pantagruel series
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Special criticism section, with essays evaluating Rabelais’ contribution to literature
* Features a bonus biography – discover Rabelais’ intriguing life
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Life of Gargantua and of Pantagruel
Pantagruel (1532)
Gargantua (1534)
The Third Book of Pantagruel (1546)
The Fourth Book of Pantagruel (1552)
The Fifth Book of Pantagruel (1564)

The Criticism
On Mr. Pope and Some Other Famous Poets by Voltaire
Rabelais by William Ernest Henley
Rabelais by Robert Hebert Quick
Rabelais by William Cleaver Wilkinson
To Maitre Francoys Rabelais by Andrew Lang
Rabelais by John Cowper Powys

The Biography
François Rabelais (1911) by George Saintsbury

You may also like…