Hamlin Garland

$ 2.99

A Pulitzer Prize winning American author, Hamlin Garland is best remembered today for his short stories and his autobiographical “Middle Border” series of narratives, charting the difficult lives of hard-working Midwestern farmers. His landmark story collection ‘Main-Travelled Roads’ was a popular success, portraying the hardships of agrarian life, deconstructing the conventional myth of the American prairie while highlighting the economic and social conditions of the rural Midwest. This comprehensive eBook presents Garland’s complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts appearing for the first time, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...



* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Garland’s life and works
* The complete Middle Border series for the first time in digital publishing
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* All 21 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features many rare novels for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare short stories, including ‘Delmar of Pima’, first time in digital print
* Includes Garland’s rare poetry collection – available in no other collection
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


Middle Border Series
A Son of the Middle Border (1917)
A Daughter of the Middle Border (1921)
Trail-Makers of the Middle Border (1926)
Back-Trailers from the Middle Border (1928)

The Novels
Jason Edwards (1892)
Rose of Dutcher’s Coolly (1895)
A Member of the Third House (1892)
A Little Norsk (1892)
A Spoil of Office (1892)
The Spirit of Sweetwater (1898)
Boy Life on the Prairie (1899)
The Eagle’s Heart (1900)
Her Mountain Lover (1901)
The Captain of the Gray-Horse Troop (1902)
Hesper (1903)
The Light of the Star (1904)
The Tyranny of the Dark (1905)
Witch’s Gold (1906)
The Long Trail (1907)
Money Magic (1907)
The Shadow World (1908)
The Moccasin Ranch (1909)
Cavanagh, Forest Ranger (1910)
Victor Ollnee’s Discipline (1911)
The Forester’s Daughter (1914)

The Short Stories
Main-Travelled Roads (1891)
Prairie Folks (1893)
Wayside Courtships (1897)
Delmar of Pima (1902)
Other Main-Travelled Roads (1910)
They of the High Trails (1916)

The Poetry
Prairie Songs (1893)

The Non-Fiction
The Trail of the Gold Seekers (1899)
A Pioneer Mother (1922)

You may also like…