John Masefield – US version

$ 1.99

The English Poet Laureate from 1930 until 1967, John Masefield produced a wide range of literary masterpieces, encompassing ballads, nature poetry, adventure novels, social dramas and mythological children’s works. His long narrative poems, including the much-celebrated ‘The Everlasting Mercy’ (1911), shocked the literary orthodoxy of the time with its colloquial expressions and coarseness of themes. Masefield is revered for his endeavour to make poetry a popular art and for his influence on the Georgian movement, advocating respect for formalism, as well as bucolic and romantic subject matter. The Delphi Poets Series offers readers the works of literature’s finest poets, with superior formatting. This volume presents Masefield’s collected works, with related illustrations and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is only for sale to customers located in the US. Browse the Complete version here.


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Masefield’s life and works
* Concise introduction to Masefield’s life
* The most complete poetry edition possible in the US
* Images of how the poetry books were first printed, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Rare poetry collections digitised here for the first time
* Excellent formatting of the poems
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the poetry
* Easily locate the poems you want to read
* Includes a selection of Masefield’s novels and non-fiction— spend hours exploring his varied works
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres


The Poetical Works
Brief Introduction: John Masefield
Salt-Water Ballads (1902)
Ballads and Poems (1910)
The Everlasting Mercy (1911)
The Widow in the Bye Street (1912)
Dauber (1912)
The Story of a Round-House and Other Poems (1912)
The Daffodil Fields (1913)
Philip the King and Other Poems (1914)
Good Friday (1916)
Lollingdon Downs and Other Poems with Sonnets (1917)
Rosas (1918)
Reynard the Fox (1919)
Enslaved and Other Poems (1920)
Right Royal (1920)
Selected Poems (1922)
King Cole and Other Poems (1923)
A King’s Daughter (1923)
Poems from ‘Sard Harker’ (1924)
Poems from ‘Odtaa’ (1926)

The Poems
List of Poems in Chronological Order
List of Poems in Alphabetical Order

The Novels
Multitude and Solitude (1909)
Martin Hyde: The Duke’s Messenger (1909)
Jim Davis (1911)
Sard Harker (1924)
ODTAA (1926)

The Non-Fiction
On the Spanish Main (1906)
William Shakespeare (1911)
John M. Synge (1915)
Gallipoli (1916)
The Old Front Line (1917)
The War and the Future (1918)

You may also like…