Josephine Tey

$ 2.99

The Scottish novelist and playwright Josephine Tey, pseudonym of Elizabeth Mackintosh, wrote popular detective novels praised for their warm and engaging style. They feature the indefatigable Inspector Grant, whose cases often involve the darker side of humanity, as Tey’s works fashioned a bridge between the Golden Age of Detective Fiction and contemporary crime novels. Her masterpiece ‘The Daughter of Time’ sees Grant investigating the role of Richard III of England in the death of the Princes in the Tower. It went on to win the prestigious distinction of being the greatest crime novel of all time, as judged by the Crime Writers’ Association, even eclipsing the works of Doyle, Sayers, Chandler and Christie. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Tey’s complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is not for sale to customers located in the US. (Estimated US release year 2048)


Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Tey’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* All 11 novels, with individual contents tables
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Rare newspaper sketches appearing for the first time in digital publishing, representing Tey’s first printed works
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* 18 plays, including the seminal drama ‘Richard of Bordeaux’
* Rare plays never digitised before
* Includes Tey’s rare non-fiction book ‘Claverhouse’ – available in no other collection
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Inspector Alan Grant Books
The Man in the Queue (1929)
A Shilling for Candles (1936)
The Franchise Affair (1948)
To Love and Be Wise (1950)
The Daughter of Time (1951)
The Singing Sands (1952)

Other Novels
Kif (1929)
The Expensive Halo (1931)
Miss Pym Disposes (1946)
Brat Farrar (1949)
The Privateer (1952)

The Sketches
Sketches from ‘The Westminster Gazette’

The Plays
Richard of Bordeaux (1932)
The Laughing Woman (1934)
Queen of Scots (1934)
Cornelia (1946)
The Little Dry Thorn (1946)
Leith Sands and Other Short Plays (1946)
Valerius (1948)
Dickon (1953)
The Pomp of Mr. Pomfret (1954)
Patria (1954)
The Balwhinnie Bomb (1954)
The Pen of My Aunt (1954)
The Princess who Liked Cherry Pie (1954)
Lady Charing is Cross (1954)
Sweet Coz (1954)
Reckoning (1954)
Barnharrow (1954)
The Staff-Room (1954)

The Non-Fiction
Claverhouse (1937)

You may also like…