Alice Meynell

$ 1.99

The English poet and essayist Alice Meynell was twice considered for the Poet Laureate, upon the deaths of both Tennyson and Alfred Austin. She was one of the early founders of the Catholic Women’s Suffrage Society, in support of peaceful means for the achievement of equal suffrage rights for women. Meynell’s poetry is marked by its simple vocabulary and religious sincerity, communicating a gentle mournfulness and a sense of the passing of time. The Delphi Poets Series offers readers the works of literature’s finest poets, with superior formatting. This volume presents Meynell’s complete poetical works, with related illustrations and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Meynell’s life and works
* Concise introduction to Meynell’s life and poetry
* Rare posthumous poems available in no other collection
* Images of how the poetry books were first printed, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the poems
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the poetry
* Easily locate the poems you want to read
* Includes Meynell’s essays — spend hours exploring the poet’s prose
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres


The Life and Poetry of Alice Meynell
Brief Introduction: Alice Meynell by Katherine Brégy
Complete Poetical Works of Alice Meynell
List of Poems in Alphabetical Order

The Prose
The Poor Sisters of Nazareth (1889)
The Rhythm of Life and Other Essays (1893)
The Colour of Life and Other Essays on Things Seen or Heard (1896)
The Children (1897)
The Spirit of Place and Other Essays (1899)
London Impressions (1898)
Ceres’ Runaway and Other Essays (1909)
Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1911)
Essays (1914)
Hearts of Controversy (1917)

You may also like…