Dashiell Hammett

$ 2.99

The American author Dashiell Hammett created the hard-boiled school of detective fiction, with the enduring characters of Sam Spade, Nick and Nora Charles (The Thin Man) and the Continental Op. Now widely regarded as among the greatest mystery stories of world literature, his works went on to have a significant impact on the development of crime fiction and film-noir cinema. His 1930 novel ‘The Maltese Falcon’ is generally considered his finest work, introducing Sam Spade, the quintessential hard-boiled private detective, who battles the gangs of organised crime, while left cynical by the cycle of violence and corruption in the world around him. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Hammett’s complete published works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts and informative introductions. (Version 1)

Please note: the eBook is only for sale to customers located in Canada, China, Hong Kong, Pakistan, New Zealand, the Philippines, South Africa and any other 50 year countries due to copyright restrictions. European release year: 2032; estimated American year: 2057.

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Hammett’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All 6 novels, with individual contents tables
* The rare unfinished novel ‘Tulip’, first time in digital print
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original books and serial publications
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare short story collections available in no other collection
* The complete published Continental Op stories
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Easily locate the stories you want to read
* Includes Hammett’s rare uncollected stories – available in no other collection
* Raymond Chandler’s critical assessment of Hammett’s work, ‘The Simple Art of Murder’
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: the unfinished Sam Spade story ‘A Knife will Cut for Anybody’ and several other minor tales were only recently published and so cannot appear in this collection, due to copyright restrictions. When new texts enter the public domain, they will be added to the eBook as a free update.


The Novels
Red Harvest (1929)
The Dain Curse (1930)
The Maltese Falcon (1930)
The Glass Key (1931)
The Thin Man (1934)
Tulip (1966)

The Shorter Fiction
The Continental Op Series
The Adventures of Sam Spade
The Thin Man Series
Woman in the Dark (1933)
Hammett Homicides (1946)
Dead Yellow Women (1947)
Nightmare Town (1948)
The Creeping Siamese (1950)
A Man Named Thin (1962)
The Big Knockover (1966)
Uncollected Stories

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

The Criticism
The Simple Art of Murder by Raymond Chandler

You may also like…