Dinah Craik

$ 3.99

The bestselling Victorian author Dinah Craik, often credited as Miss Mulock, is best remembered today for her novel ‘John Halifax, Gentleman’, a celebrated classic that presents the ideals of English middle-class life. She enjoyed great success as a novelist, earning vast sums and securing an adoring readership, who admired the genuine passion and imaginative storytelling of her novels. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Craik’s complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, many rare texts, detailed introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)


Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Craik’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All 20 novels, digitised here for the first time, with individual contents tables
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare story collections available in no other collection
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Easily locate the short stories you want to read
* Includes Craik’s rare non-fiction, including her last book ‘An Unknown Country’ – available in no other collection
* Features two biographies – discover Craik’s literary life
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Novels
The Ogilvies (1849)
Olive (1850)
The Head of the Family (1851)
Alice Learmont (1852)
Agatha’s Husband (1853)
The Little Lychetts (1855)
John Halifax, Gentleman (1857)
A Life for a Life (1859)
Mistress and Maid (1862)
Christian’s Mistake (1865)
A Noble Life (1866)
Two Marriages (1867)
The Woman’s Kingdom (1869)
A Brave Lady (1870)
Hannah (1871)
My Mother and I (1874)
The Laurel Bush (1876)
Young Mrs. Jardine (1879)
Miss Tommy (1884)
King Arthur (1886)

The Shorter Fiction
Michael the Miner (1846)
How to Win Love (1848)
Cola Monti (1849)
The Half-Caste (1851)
Bread upon the Waters (1852)
A Hero (1853)
Avillion and Other Tales (1853)
The Fairy Book (1863)
Little Sunshine’s Holiday (1871)
The Adventures of a Brownie (1872)
Is It True? (1872)
The Little Lame Prince and His Travelling-Cloak (1875)
His Little Mother (1881)

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

The Non-Fiction
A Woman’s Thoughts about Women (1858)
An Unsentimental Journey through Cornwall (1884)
An Unknown Country (1887)

The Biographies
Miss Muloch (1887) by Ella
Dinah Mulock (1897) by Mrs. Parr

You may also like…