Mary Augusta Ward

$ 2.99

The late Victorian novelist Mrs. Humphry Ward embraced the novel as her medium for exploring the serious dilemmas of the age. Her 1888 masterpiece ‘Robert Elsmere’, a novel on the theme of religious faith and doubt, enjoyed phenomenal sales on both sides of the Atlantic. Altogether Ward published 26 novels and was the world’s best-selling novelist at the turn of the century, earning royalties unprecedented at the time. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Ward’s complete works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Ward’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* All 26 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features rare books appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Famous works are fully illustrated with their original artwork
* Ward’s non-fiction, including rare essays – available in no other collection
* Ward’s autobiography
* Features a bonus biography – discover Ward’s literary life
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Novels
Milly and Olly (1881)
Miss Bretherton (1884)
Robert Elsmere (1888)
The History of David Grieve (1892)
Marcella (1894)
The Story of Bessie Costrell (1895)
Sir George Tressady (1896)
Helbeck of Bannisdale (1898)
Eleanor (1900)
Lady Rose’s Daughter (1903)
The Marriage of William Ashe (1905)
Fenwick’s Career (1906)
Diana Mallory (1908)
Daphne (1909)
Canadian Born (1910)
The Case of Richard Meynell (1911)
The Mating of Lydia (1913)
The Coryston Family (1913)
Delia Blanchflower (1914)
Eltham House (1915)
A Great Success (1915)
Lady Connie (1916)
Missing (1917)
The War and Elizabeth (1918)
Cousin Philip (1919)
Harvest (1920)

The Non-Fiction
Amiel’s Journal (1885)
The Brontë Prefaces (1899)
Anti-Suffrage Essays (1908)
John Lyly (1911)
England’s Effort: Six Letters to an American Friend (1916)
Wordsworth’s Valley in War-Time (1916)
Towards the Goal (1917)
Fields of Victory (1919)

The Autobiography
A Writer’s Recollections (1918)

The Biography
The Life of Mrs. Humphry Ward by Janet Penrose Trevelyan

You may also like…