John William Waterhouse

$ 2.99

The late Victorian artist John William Waterhouse produced stunning paintings of women from ancient mythology, Shakespearean drama and Arthurian legend. The darling of the Royal Academy, where he exhibited almost every year throughout his long career, Waterhouse completed artworks that were celebrated for their rich, glowing colour and veiled eroticism. Embracing the style of the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood, which had split up several decades before, Waterhouse depicted dramatic, beautiful and haunting female figures, perfecting his own vision of the all-powerful femme fatale. His paintings embrace a dreamy, romantic manner, with a sensuous handling of paint that gave them a unique identity. Delphi’s Masters of Art Series presents the world’s first digital e-Art books, allowing readers to explore the works of great artists in comprehensive detail. This volume presents Waterhouse’s complete paintings in beautiful detail, with concise introductions, hundreds of high quality images and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Look inside eBook...


* The complete paintings of John William Waterhouse – over 250 images, fully indexed and arranged in chronological and alphabetical order
* Includes reproductions of rare early and late works
* Features a special ‘Highlights’ section, with concise introductions to the masterpieces, giving valuable contextual information
* Enlarged ‘Detail’ images, allowing you to explore Waterhouse’s celebrated works in detail, as featured in traditional art books
* Hundreds of images in colour – highly recommended for viewing on tablets and smartphones or as a valuable reference tool on more conventional eReaders
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the paintings
* Easily locate the artworks you wish to view


The Highlights
Sleep and His Half-Brother Death (1874)
Miranda (1875)
After the Dance (1876)
Dolce Far Niente (1879)
The Favourites of the Emperor Honorius (1883)
Saint Eulalia (1885)
The Magic Circle (1886)
The Lady of Shalott (1888)
Ulysses and the Sirens (1891)
La Belle Dame sans Merci (1893)
Hylas and the Nymphs (1896)
A Mermaid (1900)
Echo and Narcissus (1903)
Penelope and the Suitors (1912)
The Decameron (1916)

The Paintings
The Complete Paintings
Alphabetical List of Paintings

You may also like…