Matthew Lewis

$ 2.99

Master of Gothic horror, Matthew Lewis was an English novelist and dramatist, whose 1796 novel ‘The Monk’ made him famous overnight, achieving sensational success. Written when Lewis was nineteen, its was influenced by the leading Gothic writer Ann Radcliffe and by contemporary German literature. Its emphasis on horror rather than romance, amorality over religion, with a penchant for violence and eroticism, it was avidly read, though universally condemned. As well as numerous poems, plays and stories, Lewis’ other enduring work is ‘Journal of a West India Proprietor’, offering an important historical resource for the study of the slave trade. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Lewis’ complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Lewis’ life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All the novels and short stories, with individual contents tables
* Features Lewis’ first and unfinished novel, ‘The Effusions of Sensibility’, appearing here for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* The complete four volume text of ‘Romantic Tales’, available in no other collection
* Rare uncollected poetry and tales, posthumously published and never digitised before
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the poetry
* Easily locate the poems or short stories you want to read
* Lewis’ complete poetry collections – available in no other collection
* Features a bonus biography
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: at the time of publication, no suitable texts of Lewis’ translation of ‘Feudal Tyrants’ are available. As soon as a copy is obtainable, the text will be added to the collection as a free update.


The Novels
The Effusions of Sensibility (1839)
Ambrosio; or, The Monk (1796)
The Bravo of Venice by Heinrich Zschokke (1805)

The Shorter Fiction
Romantic Tales (1808)
A Nancy Story (1839)

The Plays
The Castle Spectre (1798)
The East Indian (1800)
Alfonso, King of Castile (1801)

The Poetry Collections
Tales of Terror (1799)
Tales of Wonder (1801)
Poems (1812)
Uncollected Poems

The Poems
List of Poems in Chronological Order
List of Poems in Alphabetical Order

The Non-Fiction
Journal of a West India Proprietor (1833)

The Biography
Matthew Gregory Lewis by Leslie Stephen

You may also like…