Romain Rolland

$ 2.99

Romain Rolland was an early twentieth century French novelist, dramatist and essayist. Throughout his life he was a fervent idealist, deeply involved with pacifism, the fight against fascism, the search for world peace and the analysis of artistic genius, which was a recurring theme of his works. In 1915 he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature as “a tribute to the lofty idealism of his literary production and to the sympathy and love of truth with which he has described different types of human beings”. This comprehensive eBook presents Rolland’s collected works, with numerous illustrations, rare translations appearing in digital print for the first time, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is not for sale to customers located in Europe. (Estimated European release year 2032)

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Rolland’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* 15 novels, with individual contents tables
* The complete 10-volume novel cycle ‘Jean-Christophe’, translated by Gilbert Cannan
* The first two volumes of Rolland’s other novel cycle, ‘The Soul Enchanted’, appearing here for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Includes rare non-fiction works, including Rolland’s classical music criticism
* Features a bonus biography by the noted Austrian author Stefan Zweig – discover Rolland’s literary life
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


Jean-Christophe (tr. Gilbert Cannan)
Dawn (1904)
Morning (1904)
Youth (1904)
Revolt (1905)
The Marketplace (1908)
Antoinette (1908)
The House (1908)
Love and Friendship (1910)
The Burning Bush (1911)
The New Dawn (1912)

The Soul Enchanted
Annette and Sylvie (1922) (tr. Ben Ray Redman)
Summer (1924) (tr. Eleanor Stimson and Van Wyck Brooks)

Other Fiction
Colas Breugnon (1919) (tr. Katherine Miller)
Clérambault (1920) (tr. Katherine Miller)
Pierre and Luce (1920) (tr. Charles de Kay)

The Plays
Georges Danton (1899)
The Fourteenth of July (1902)

The Non-Fiction
François-Millet (1902)
Beethoven (1903)
Life of Michelangelo (1907)
Musicians of To-Day (1908)
Musicians of Former Days (1908)
Handel (1910)
Tolstoy (1911)
The Forerunners (1919)
A Musical Tour through the Land of the Past (1922)
Mahatma Gandhi (1924)

The Biography
Romain Rolland (1921) by Stefan Zweig (tr. Eden and Cedar Paul)

You may also like…