Sir Joshua Reynolds

$ 2.99

Sir Joshua Reynolds was a renowned portrait painter and aesthetician, who dominated English artistic life in the middle and late eighteenth century. Through his art and teaching, he strove to lead British painting away from the indigenous anecdotal pictures of the early 1700’s toward the formal rhetoric of the continental Grand Style. One of his greatest achievements was his seminal work as a founding member of the Royal Academy, serving as its first President until his death in 1792. He delivered annual lectures on art theory and became one of the most influential voices in British art history. His work helped Britain to establish its own artistic identity, inspiring countless artists for years to come. Delphi’s Masters of Art Series presents the world’s first digital e-Art books, allowing readers to explore the works of great artists in comprehensive detail. This volume presents Reynolds’ collected works, with concise introductions, hundreds of high quality images and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Look inside eBook...


* The collected paintings of Joshua Reynolds – over 350 images, fully indexed and arranged in chronological and alphabetical order
* Includes reproductions of rare works
* Features a special ‘Highlights’ section, with concise introductions to the masterpieces, giving valuable contextual information
* Enlarged ‘Detail’ images, allowing you to explore Reynolds’ celebrated works in detail, as featured in traditional art books
* Hundreds of images in colour – highly recommended for viewing on tablets and smartphones or as a valuable reference tool on more conventional eReaders
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the paintings
* Easily locate the artworks you wish to view
* Includes Reynolds’ complete ‘Discourses’
* Also features his celebrated travelogue and study of Rubens, ‘A Journey to Flanders and Holland’, digitised here for the first time
* Features three bonus biographies – discover Reynolds’ artistic and personal life


The Highlights
Self Portrait (1748)
Captain the Honourable Augustus Keppel (1753)
Robert Orme (1756)
David Garrick between Tragedy and Comedy (1761)
Miss Nelly O’Brien (c. 1763)
Thomas Lister: The Brown Boy (1764)
Colonel Acland and Lord Sydney: The Archers (1769)
Theophila ‘Offie’ Palmer Reading ‘Clarissa Harlowe’ (1771)
Mrs. Abington as Miss Prue in Congreve’s ‘Love for Love’ (1771)
Miss Frances Crewe (c. 1776)
Lady Elizabeth Delmé and Her Children (1779)
The Ladies Waldegrave (1780)
Thaïs (1781)
Lieutenant-Colonel Banastre Tarleton (1782)
Lord Heathfield (1787)
The Age of Innocence (c. 1788)
Self Portrait (1788)
Sarah Siddons as the Tragic Muse (1789)

The Paintings
The Collected Paintings
Alphabetical List of Paintings

The Written Works
A Journey to Flanders and Holland (1797)
Discourses (1887)

The Biographies
Reynolds (1890) by Sarah K. Bolton
Joshua Reynolds (1900) by William Cosmo Monkhouse
Sir Joshua Reynolds (1911)

You may also like…