James Branch Cabell – US version

$ 1.99

The mid-twentieth century American author James Branch Cabell made a significant contribution to the development of fantasy fiction. Famous exponents of the genre such as ‘Jurgen’ and ‘The Silver Stallion’ are noted for their satirical and mannered style, sexual symbolism and for exploring a unique philosophy of life. His landmark series of books, entitled ‘Biography of the Life of Manuel’, are set in the imaginary medieval province of Poictesme, offering the reader an escape from real life, while employing a sceptical view of human experience. This comprehensive eBook presents Cabell’s collected works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is only for sale to customers currently located in the US, due to copyright restrictions. Please also see the Complete Works edition.

Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Cabell’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* The most complete edition possible in the United States
* 20 books from the ‘Biography of the Life of Manuel’ series, with individual contents tables
* Features rare books appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Famous works are fully illustrated with their original artwork
* Rare poetry, stories and essays available in no other collection
* Cabell’s autobiography, digitised here for the first time
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: due to US copyright restrictions, post-1925 works cannot appear in this edition. When new texts become available, they will be added to the eBook as a free update.


Biography of the Life of Manuel Series:
The Eagle’s Shadow (1904)
The Line of Love (1905)
Gallantry (1907)
The Cords of Vanity (1909)
Chivalry (1909)
The Soul of Melicent (1913)
The Rivet in Grandfather’s Neck (1915)
The Certain Hour (1916)
From the Hidden Way (1916)
The Cream of the Jest (1917)
Some Ladies and Jurgen (1918)
Beyond Life (1919)
Jurgen (1919)
The Judging of Jurgen (1920)
Figures of Earth (1921)
Taboo (1921)
The Jewel Merchants (1921)
The Lineage of Lichfield (1922)
The High Place (1923)
Straws and Prayer-Books (1924)

The Autobiography
As I Remember It (1955)

You may also like…