James Branch Cabell

$ 3.99

The mid-twentieth century American author James Branch Cabell made a significant contribution to the development of fantasy fiction. Famous exponents of the genre such as ‘Jurgen’ and ‘The Silver Stallion’ are noted for their satirical and mannered style, sexual symbolism and for exploring a unique philosophy of life. His landmark series of books, entitled ‘Biography of the Life of Manuel’, are set in the imaginary medieval province of Poictesme, offering the reader an escape from real life, while employing a sceptical view of human experience. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Cabell’s complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, many rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is only for sale to customers currently located in Canada, China, New Zealand, South Africa, The Philippines and Japan due to copyright restrictions. European release year: 2029. US customers, please see the US version instead.

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Cabell’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* The complete ‘Biography of the Life of Manuel’, with individual contents tables
* Special ‘Storisende Index’ page, with hyperlinks to the series in narrative order
* Features many rare books appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Famous works are fully illustrated with their original artwork
* The complete ‘Heirs and Assigns’ trilogy
* The complete ‘The Nightmare Has Triplets’ trilogy
* Rare poetry, stories and essays available in no other collection
* Cabell’s autobiography, digitised here for the first time
* Features the important collection of essays ‘Quiet, Please’
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: ‘The St Johns’ (1943), a non-fiction book and the first part of the ‘It Happened in Florida’ trilogy, was co-written with Alfred J. Hanna and so cannot appear in this eBook, due to copyright restrictions (release date 2029).


Storisende Index to ‘Biography of the Life of Manuel’

Biography of the Life of Manuel Series:
The Eagle’s Shadow (1904)
The Line of Love (1905)
Gallantry (1907)
The Cords of Vanity (1909)
Chivalry (1909)
The Soul of Melicent (1913)
The Rivet in Grandfather’s Neck (1915)
The Certain Hour (1916)
From the Hidden Way (1916)
The Cream of the Jest (1917)
Some Ladies and Jurgen (1918)
Beyond Life (1919)
Jurgen (1919)
The Judging of Jurgen (1920)
Figures of Earth (1921)
Taboo (1921)
The Jewel Merchants (1921)
The Lineage of Lichfield (1922)
The High Place (1923)
Straws and Prayer-Books (1924)
The Music From Behind the Moon (1926)
The Silver Stallion (1926)
Something about Eve (1927)
The White Robe (1928)
The Way of Ecben (1929)
Sonnets from Antan (1929)
Preface to the Past (1936)

‘The Nightmare Has Triplets’ Trilogy
Smirt (1934)
Smith (1935)
Smire (1937)

‘It Happened in Florida’ Trilogy
There Were Two Pirates (1946)
The Devil’s Own Dear Son (1949)

‘Heirs and Assigns’ Trilogy
The King Was in His Counting House (1938)
Hamlet Had an Uncle (1940)
The First Gentleman of America (1942)

The Non-Fiction
Quiet, Please (1952)

The Autobiography
As I Remember It (1955)

You may also like…