Ellen Glasgow

$ 2.99

The winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1942, Ellen Glasgow published 19 novels to critical acclaim, establishing a new form of Southern fiction. Offering realistic depictions of life in her native Virginia, her narratives avoided the nostalgia, sentimentality and idealistic escapism that characterised Southern literature after Reconstruction. With an assured and increasingly ironic treatment, Glasgow’s novels examined the decay of the Southern aristocracy and the trauma of the encroachment of modern industrial civilization, with compelling results. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Glasgow’s complete works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is not for sale to customers located in the US. (Estimated US release year 2039) Please select the US version instead.

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Glasgow’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* All 19 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare short stories, only available in this collection
* Glasgow’s critical essays, digitised here for the first time
* Includes Glasgow’s autobiography – discover her literary life
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Novels
The Descendant (1897)
Phases of an Inferior Planet (1898)
The Voice of the People (1900)
The Battle-Ground (1902)
The Deliverance (1904)
The Wheel of Life (1906)
The Ancient Law (1908)
The Romance of a Plain Man (1909)
The Miller of Old Church (1911)
Virginia (1913)
Life and Gabriella (1916)
The Builders (1919)
One Man in His Time (1922)
Barren Ground (1925)
The Romantic Comedians (1926)
They Stooped to Folly (1929)
The Sheltered Life (1932)
Vein of Iron (1935)
In This Our Life (1941)

The Shorter Fiction
The Shadowy Third and Other Stories (1923)
Miscellaneous Short Stories

The Non-Fiction
A Certain Measure (1943)

The Autobiography
The Woman within (1954)

You may also like…