Ludwig van Beethoven

$ 2.99

Widely regarded as the greatest composer that ever lived, Ludwig van Beethoven was the principal musical figure in the transitional period between the Classical and Romantic eras. Dominating a period of musical history as no other composer before or since, Beethoven produced monumental works that combine a forceful intensity of feeling with a perfection of design. Delphi’s Great Composers Series offers concise illustrated guides to the life and works of our greatest composers. Analysing the masterworks of each composer, these interactive eBooks include links to popular streaming services, allowing you to listen to the pieces of music you are reading about. Evaluating the masterworks of each composer, you will explore the development of their works, tracing how they changed the course of music history. Whether a classical novice or a cultivated connoisseur, this series offers an intriguing overview of the world’s most famous and iconic compositions. This volume presents Beethoven’s masterworks in succinct detail, with informative introductions, accompanying illustrations and the usual Delphi bonus features. (Version 1)


* Includes both Kindle and ePub version
* Concise and informative overview of Beethoven’s masterworks
* Learn about the classical pieces that made Beethoven a celebrated composer
* Links to popular streaming services (free and paid), allowing you to listen to the masterpieces you are reading about
* Features a special ‘Complete Compositions’ section, with an index of Beethoven’s complete works and links to popular streaming services
* Includes Beethoven’s letters (translated by Lady Wallace) – spend hours exploring the composer’s personal correspondence
* Also features four biographies, including Thayer’s seminal study – explore Beethoven’s intriguing musical and personal life


The Masterworks
Cantata on the Death of Emperor Joseph II
Piano Concerto No. 2
Piano Sonata No. 8, Pathétique
Symphony No. 1
Piano Sonata No. 14, Moonlight Sonata
Violin Sonata No. 9, Kreutzer Sonata
Symphony No. 3, Eroica
Violin Concerto in D major
Symphony No. 5
Symphony No. 6, Pastoral
Bagatelle No. 25, Für Elise
Piano Concerto No. 5, Emperor Concerto
Piano Trio No. 7, Archduke
Symphony No. 7
Missa solemnis
Symphony No. 9
String Quartet No. 14

Complete Compositions
Index of Beethoven’s Compositions

The Letters
Beethoven’s Letters (1790-1826)

The Biographies
Life of Beethoven by Anton Schindler
The Life of Ludwig van Beethoven by Alexander Wheelock Thayer
Beethoven: A Memoir by Elliott Graeme
Brief Biography: Ludwig van Beethoven by Donald Francis Tovey


You may also like…