Margaret Oliphant

$ 2.99

Margaret Oliphant achieved fame during the Victorian era for her masterpieces of domestic realism, historical novels and spellbinding tales of the supernatural. This eBook presents a comprehensive range of Oliphant’s works, with the complete Chronicles of Carlingford, the complete Stories of the Seen and Unseen, numerous illustrations, rare texts appearing in digital print for the first time, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 2)


Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Oliphant’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* 79 novels, with individual contents tables
* Rare novels available in no other collection, including Oliphant’s first novels MARGARET MAITLAND and CHRISTIAN MELVILLE
* Rare supernatural novels appearing in digital publishing for the first time: DIES IRAE and THE LADY’S WALK
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* The complete ‘Chronicles of Carlingford’ series, inspired by Trollope’s Barsetshire books, with special index and links – includes the very rare short story ‘The Executor’
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Features the complete Stories and Novels of the Seen and Unseen – first time in digital print
* Includes a selection of Oliphant’s non-fiction
* Features a bonus biography
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres
* UPDATED with 60 more books – including 56 novels, 2 short story collections, 1 non-fiction work and an autobiography


The Chronicles of Carlingford

Stories of the Seen and Unseen

The Novels
Passages in the Life of Mrs. Margaret Maitland (1849)
Merkland (1850)
The Quiet Heart (1854)
Christian Melville (1855)
The Athelings (1857)
The Days of My Life (1857)
The Laird of Norlaw (1858)
The House on the Moor (1861)
The Doctor’s Family (1861)
The Last of the Mortimers (1862)
Salem Chapel (1862)
Heart and Cross (1863)
The Perpetual Curate (1863)
A Son of the Soil (1865)
Miss Marjoribanks (1865)
Madonna Mary (1867)
Brownlows (1868)
The Minister’s Wife (1869)
The Three Brothers (1870)
John (1870)
Squire Arden (1871)
Ombra (1872)
At His Gates (1872)
May (1873)
A Rose in June (1874)
For Love and Life (1874)
Whiteladies (1875)
The Story of Valentine and His Brother (1875)
The Curate in Charge (1876)
Phoebe, Junior (1876)
Mrs. Arthur (1877)
Young Musgrave (1877)
The Primrose Path (1878)
A Beleaguered City (1879)
Within the Precincts (1879)
He That Will Not When He May (1880)
The Greatest Heiress in England (1880)
Harry Joscelyn (1881)
In Trust (1881)
The Ladies Lindores (1883)
The Lady’s Walk (1883)
Sir Tom (1883)
Hester (1883)
It was a Lover and His Lass (1883)
Madam (1884)
The Wizard’s Son (1884)
Old Lady Mary (1884)
The Prodigals and Their Inheritance (1885)
Oliver’s Bride (1886)
Effie Ogilvie (1886)
The Son of His Father (1886)
A Poor Gentleman (1886)
A House Divided Against Itself (1886)
A Country Gentleman and His Family (1886)
Joyce (1888)
Cousin Mary (1888)
Lady Car (1889)
The Mystery of Mrs. Blencarrow (1890)
Sons and Daughters (1890)
The Duke’s Daughter (1890)
Kirsteen (1890)
The Fugitives (1890)
The Railway Man and His Children (1891)
The Story of a Governess (1891)
The Heir Presumptive and the Heir (1891)
The Marriage of Elinor (1891)
The Cuckoo in the Nest (1892)
Diana Trelawny (1892)
The Sorceress (1893)
A House in Bloomsbury (1894)
Lady William (1894)
Who Was Lost and Is Found (1894)
Sir Robert’s Fortune (1894)
Old Mr. Tredgold (1895)
Two Strangers (1895)
Dies Irae (1895)
The Unjust Steward (1896)
The Two Marys (1896)
The Ways of Life (1897)

The Shorter Fiction
The Executor (1861)
The Rector (1861)
The Land of Darkness (1888)
Neighbours on the Green (1889)
A Widow’s Tale and Other Stories (1898)
Complete Stories of the Seen and Unseen

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

The Non-Fiction
Royal Edinburgh (1890)
Historical Characters in the Reign of Queen Anne (1894)
The Makers of Modern Rome (1895)
Jeanne d’Arc (1896)
The Sisters Brontë (1897)

The Autobiography
The Autobiography and Letters of Mrs. M. O. W. Oliphant (1899)

The Biography
Margaret Oliphant (1901) by Richard Garnett


You may also like…