Alphonse Daudet

$ 3.99

A master of French Naturalism, the nineteenth century novelist Alphonse Daudet is chiefly remembered today as the author of sentimental tales of provincial life in the south of France. Unlike his fellow Naturalists, Daudet upheld that the world in its diversity was misrepresented by novelists that concentrated only on its bleaker aspects. He is celebrated for his objective interest in external detail, as well as his compassionate personality and his reverence for the mystery of all things and individuals. Daudet tempers his satire with pity, drawing comparisons in style to the works of Dickens and Maupassant. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Daudet’s complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and bonus material. (Version 1)

Category: Tags: , ,
Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Daudet’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All 16 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features many rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare short stories available in no other collection
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Easily locate the stories you want to read
* Includes a selection of Daudet’s rare non-fiction – available in no other collection
* Features the memoir penned by the author’s son – discover Daudet’s literary life
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Tartarin Trilogy
Tartarin of Tarascon (1872)
Tartarin on the Alps (1885)
Port Tarascon (1890)

The Novels
Little What’s-His-Name (1868)
Artists’ Wives (1874)
Fromont and Risler (1874)
Jack (1876)
The Nabob (1877)
Kings in Exile (1879)
Numa Roumestan (1880)
The Evangelist (1883)
Sappho (1884)
The Immortal (1888)
Rose and Ninette (1892)
The Little Parish Church (1895)
The Support of the Family (1898)

The Shorter Fiction
Letters from My Mill (1869)
The Monday Tales (1873)
Robert Helmont (1874)
La Belle Nivernaise (1886)
The Siege of Berlin (1891)
Arlatan’s Treasure (1897)
La Fedor (1897)

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

The Non-Fiction
Letters to an Absent One (1871)
Between the Flies and the Footlights (1894)

The Memoir
Memoir (1898) by Léon Daudet

You may also like…