Émile Zola

$ 2.99

Émile Zola was the most prominent French novelist of the late nineteenth century. He was noted for his theories of naturalism, which permeate his monumental 20-novel series ‘Les Rougon-Macquart’. Recognised in his lifetime as one of the greatest novelists of his era, Zola was also as a man of action, a defender of truth and justice, and a champion of the poor and persecuted. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Zola’s complete works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 3)


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Zola’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other works
* The complete Rougon-Macquart cycle, as well as all the other novels and series
* Images of how the books were first printed, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* The complete short stores
* Includes Zola’s famous ‘J’accuse!’, with explanatory introduction
* Special criticism section, with essays by famous writers such as Henry James and James Joyce, evaluating Zola’s contribution to literature
* Features two bonus biographies by Zola’s English translator
* Special resources section, with the detailed listing of the Rougon-Macquart family tree, as well as an index of the main characters and locations in the twenty-novel series
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres
* UPDATED with improved texts and Vizetelly’s seminal biography


The Early Novels
Claude’s Confession (1865)
The Dead Woman’s Wish (1866)
The Mystery of Marseille (1867)
Therese Raquin (1867)
Madeleine Ferat (1868)

The Rougon-Macquart Cycle
The Fortune of the Rougons (1871)
The Rush for the Spoil (1871)
The Fat and the Thin (1873)
The Conquest of Plassans (1874)
Abbe Mouret’s Transgression (1875)
His Excellency Eugene Rougon (1876)
The Dram Shop (1877)
A Love Episode (1878)
Nana (1880)
Piping Hot (1882)
The Ladies’ Paradise (1883)
The Joy of Life (1884)
Germinal (1885)
His Masterpiece (1886)
The Soil (1887)
The Dream (1888)
The Monomaniac (1890)
Money (1891)
The Downfall (1892)
Doctor Pascal (1893)

The Three Cities
Lourdes (1894)
Rome (1896)
Paris (1898)

The Four Gospels
Fruitfulness (1899)
Work (1901)
Truth (1903)

The Short Stories
Stories for Ninon (1864)
New Stories for Ninon (1874)
The Attack on the Mill (1880)
Miscellaneous Stories

J’Accuse !
I Accuse…! (1898)

The Criticism
M. Zola (1892) by Arthur Quiller-Couch
An Extract from ‘My Literary Passions’ (1895) by William Dean Howells
Zola (1898) by Henryk Sienkiewicz
Émile Zola (1902) by William Dean Howells
Borlase and Son (1903) by James Joyce
Émile Zola (1903) by Henry James
The Zola Controversy (1915) by G. K. Chesterton

The Biographies
With Zola in England (1899) by Ernest Alfred Vizetelly
Émile Zola: Novelist and Reformer (1904) by Ernest Alfred Vizetelly

The Rougon-Macquart Family Tree
Index of Characters in the Rougon-Macquart Series
Index of Locations in the Rougon-Macquart Series

You may also like…