Booth Tarkington – US version

$ 2.99

Booth Tarkington, a leading American novelist of the Interwar period, was famous for his novels ‘The Magnificent Ambersons’ and ‘Alice Adams’. Although he was considered by many to be America’s greatest living author in the 1910’s and 1920’s, being one of only three novelists to win the Pulitzer Prize multiple times, his works are sadly neglected today. This comprehensive eBook presents Tarkington’s collected works, featuring many rare novels for the first time in digital publishing. As well as numerous illustrations and informative introductions, this edition offers readers the opportunity to rediscover this important American novelist. (Version 2)

Please note: this is the US version for sale only to US customers.

Category: Tags: ,

Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Tarkington’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* 20 novels, with individual contents tables
* Includes the complete Growth trilogy
* Rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing, including ‘Cherry’
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Famous works such as ‘The Magnificent Ambersons’ and ‘Penrod’ are fully illustrated with their original artwork
* Rare story collections available in no other collection
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Easily locate the short stories you want to read
* Rare plays – available in no other collection
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres
* Updated with the novel ‘Women’ and 1 play


The Novels
The Gentleman from Indiana (1899)
Monsieur Beaucaire (1900)
Cherry (1901)
The Two Vanrevels (1902)
The Beautiful Lady (1905)
The Conquest of Canaan (1905)
The Guest of Quesnay (1907)
His Own People (1907)
The Flirt (1913)
Penrod (1914)
The Turmoil (1915)
Penrod and Sam (1916)
Seventeen (1916)
The Magnificent Ambersons (1918)
Ramsey Milholland (1919)
Harlequin and Columbine (1921)
Alice Adams (1921)
Gentle Julia (1922)
The Midlander (1924)
Women (1925)

The Shorter Fiction
In the Arena (1905)
Beasley’s Christmas Party (1909)
The Spring Concert (1916)
Captain Schlotterwerz (1919)
The Fascinating Stranger and Other Stories (1923)

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

The Plays
The Man from Home (1908)
Beauty and the Jacobin (1912)
The Gibson Upright (1919)
The Trysting Place (1923)

The Non-Fiction
The Rich Man’s War (1917)


You may also like…