Booth Tarkington

$ 2.99

Booth Tarkington, a leading American novelist of the Interwar period, was famous for his novels ‘The Magnificent Ambersons’ and ‘Alice Adams’. Although he was considered by many to be America’s greatest living author in the 1910’s and 1920’s, being one of only three novelists to win the Pulitzer Prize multiple times, his works are sadly neglected today. This eBook presents Tarkington’s complete fictional works, featuring rare novels for the first time in digital publishing. As well as numerous illustrations and informative introductions, this edition offers readers the opportunity to rediscover this important American novelist. (Version 2)

Please note: this product is not for sale to customers located in the US. (Estimated US release year 2042) Please select the US version instead.


Category: Tags: ,

Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Tarkington’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* All 35 novels, with individual contents tables
* Includes the complete Growth trilogy and the complete Penrod novels
* Many rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Famous works such as ‘The Magnificent Ambersons’ and ‘Penrod’ are fully illustrated with their original artwork
* Rare story collections available in no other collection
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Easily locate the short stories you want to read
* Rare plays – available in no other collection
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres
* Updated with 11 novels, 1 play and an autobiographical novel


The Growth Trilogy

The Penrod Series

The Novels
The Gentleman from Indiana (1899)
Monsieur Beaucaire (1900)
Cherry (1901)
The Two Vanrevels (1902)
The Beautiful Lady (1905)
The Conquest of Canaan (1905)
The Guest of Quesnay (1907)
His Own People (1907)
The Flirt (1913)
Penrod (1914)
The Turmoil (1915)
Penrod and Sam (1916)
Seventeen (1916)
The Magnificent Ambersons (1918)
Ramsey Milholland (1919)
Harlequin and Columbine (1921)
Alice Adams (1921)
Gentle Julia (1922)
The Midlander (1924)
Women (1925)
The Plutocrat (1927)
Claire Ambler (1928)
Young Mrs. Greeley (1929)
Mary’s Neck (1929)
Penrod Jashber (1929)
Mirthful Haven (1930)
Wanton Mally (1932)
Rumbin Galleries (1932)
Presenting Lily Mars (1933)
The Lorenzo Bunch (1935)
The Fighting Littles (1941)
The Heritage of Hatcher Ide (1941)
Kate Fennigate (1943)
Image of Josephine (1945)
The Show Piece (1946)

The Shorter Fiction
In the Arena (1905)
Beasley’s Christmas Party (1909)
The Spring Concert (1916)
Captain Schlotterwerz (1919)
The Fascinating Stranger and Other Stories (1923)

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

The Plays
The Man from Home (1908)
Beauty and the Jacobin (1912)
The Gibson Upright (1919)
The Trysting Place (1923)

The Non-Fiction
The Rich Man’s War (1917)

The Autobiography
The World Does Move (1928)

You may also like…