F. Marion Crawford

$ 2.99

A late nineteenth century American author, F. Marion Crawford was a prolific novelist and noted writer of classic weird and fantastic stories. Crawford objected to the prevailing taste for realistic fiction and preferred to write gripping romance fiction. His novels are noted for vivid characterisations and their versatile and colourful depictions of European settings. Many of his works are set in Italy, the country he made his long-time home. His most celebrated achievement is the ‘Saracinesca’ trilogy of novels, which explores the effect of recent social changes on the aristocracy at a time when its influence and status were under attack from the emerging forces of modernity. For the first time in publishing history, this edition presents Crawford’s complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)


Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Crawford’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All 44 novels, with individual contents tables
* Special ‘Saracinesca Series’ contents table to help navigate the novels
* Rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing, including ‘With the Immortals’ and Crawford’s last novel, ‘The Undesirable Governess’
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Includes Crawford’s non-fiction works, including his detailed history and travel books
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Saracinesca Series

The Novels
Mr. Isaacs
Doctor Claudius
To Leeward
A Roman Singer
An American Politician
A Tale of a Lonely Parish
Marzio’s Crucifix
Paul Patoff
With the Immortals
Sant’ Ilario
A Cigarette-Maker’s Romance
The Witch of Prague
The Three Fates
Don Orsino
The Children of the King
Pietro Ghisleri
Marion Darche
Katharine Lauderdale
Love in Idleness
The Ralstons
Casa Braccio
Adam Johnstone’s Son
A Rose of Yesterday
Via Crucis
In the Palace of the King
The Heart of Rome
Whosoever Shall Offend
A Lady of Rome
The Little City of Hope
The Primadonna
The Diva’s Ruby
The White Sister
The Undesirable Governess

The Shorter Fiction
Wandering Ghosts
The King’s Messenger

The Non-Fiction
Our Silver
The Novel: What It Is
Bar Harbor
Ave Roma Immortalis
Rulers of the South

You may also like…