Hugh Lofting – US version

$ 1.99

The English-born American author Hugh Lofting was the creator of the beloved children’s character of Doctor Dolittle, the eccentric, yet genial physician that can talk to the animals. The genesis of the series appeared in illustrated letters sent by Lofting to his children, while he was undergoing the horrors of the trenches in World War I, when news was “too horrible” to send. The Dolittle books are celebrated for their charming wit and the humorous treatment of the doctor’s bachelor household in Puddleby-on-the-Marsh. However, Lofting’s works provide a recurring message of pacifism and censure of warmongering, which is most evident in Lofting’s anti-war poem ‘Victory for the Slain’. This comprehensive edition presents Lofting’s collected works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts and concise introductions. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is only for sale to customers located in the US. Please also see the World version.

Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Lofting’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* Four Doctor Dolittle books, including Lofting’s original illustrations
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Two other children’s books, including ‘Porridge Poetry’
* Lofting’s works for adults – available in no other collection
* Includes the 1924 pacifist essay ‘Children and Internationalism’
* The anti-war poem ‘Victory for the Slain’
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: due to US copyright restrictions, post-1924 works cannot appear in this edition. When new texts become available, they will be added to the eBook as a free update.


The Doctor Dolittle Books
The Story of Doctor Dolittle (1920)
The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle (1922)
Doctor Dolittle’s Post Office (1923)
Doctor Dolittle’s Circus (1924)

Other Children’s Books
The Story of Mrs. Tubbs (1923)
Porridge Poetry (1924)

Works for Adults
Children and Internationalism (1924)
Victory for the Slain (1942)

You may also like…