Hugh Lofting

$ 2.99

The English-born American author Hugh Lofting was the creator of the beloved children’s character of Doctor Dolittle, the eccentric, yet genial physician that can talk to the animals. The genesis of the series appeared in illustrated letters sent by Lofting to his children, while he was undergoing the horrors of the trenches in World War I, when news was “too horrible” to send. The Dolittle books are celebrated for their charming wit and the humorous treatment of the doctor’s bachelor household in Puddleby-on-the-Marsh. However, Lofting’s works provide a recurring message of pacifism and censure of warmongering, which is most evident in Lofting’s anti-war poem ‘Victory for the Slain’. For the first time in publishing history, this edition presents Lofting’s complete works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts and concise introductions. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is not for sale to customers located in the US. (Estimated US release year 2038) Please select the US version instead.

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Lofting’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All of the Doctor Dolittle books, including ALL of Lofting’s original illustrations
* Rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Lofting’s other children’s books, digitised here for the first time, including ‘Porridge Poetry’ and ‘Noisy Nora’
* Lofting’s works for adults – available in no other collection
* Includes the 1924 pacifist essay ‘Children and Internationalism’
* The anti-war poem ‘Victory for the Slain’
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Doctor Dolittle Books
The Story of Doctor Dolittle (1920)
The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle (1922)
Doctor Dolittle’s Post Office (1923)
Doctor Dolittle’s Circus (1924)
Doctor Dolittle’s Zoo (1925)
Doctor Dolittle’s Caravan (1926)
Doctor Dolittle’s Garden (1927)
Doctor Dolittle in the Moon (1928)
Gub Gub’s Book (1932)
Doctor Dolittle’s Return (1933)
Doctor Dolittle and the Secret Lake (1948)
Doctor Dolittle and the Green Canary (1950)
Doctor Dolittle’s Puddleby Adventures (1952)

Other Children’s Books
The Story of Mrs. Tubbs (1923)
Porridge Poetry (1924)
Noisy Nora (1929)
The Twilight of Magic (1930)
Tommy, Tilly, and Mrs. Tubbs (1936)

Works for Adults
Children and Internationalism (1924)
Victory for the Slain (1942)

You may also like…