John Kendrick Bangs

$ 2.99

The late nineteenth century American humorist John Kendrick Bangs was an inventive satirical writer, who inspired the genre of Bangsian fantasy. Famous works like ‘A House-Boat on the Styx’ employed a fantastical premise, involving the use of famous literary or historical individuals and their interactions in the Afterlife. In the popular magazines ‘Puck’ and ‘Life’, Bangs created numerous hilarious characters, including Jimmieboy, the Idiot, Alice in Blunderland, the Unwiseman and a popular Raffles spin-off series — all revealing his important contribution to the development of humorist literature. For the first time in publishing history, this comprehensive eBook presents Bangs’ complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Bangs’ life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All 14 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing, including Bangs’ almost lost first novel, ‘Roger Camerden’
* The complete Idiot and Jimmieboy series
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* All of the famous works are fully illustrated with the original artwork, with thousands of images
* Rare magazine stories available in no other collection, including ‘The Paradise Club’ series
* Includes Bangs’ rare non-fiction work ‘Uncle Sam, Trustee’, digitised here for the first time
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Novels
Roger Camerden (1887)
Toppleton’s Client (1893)
Mr. Bonaparte of Corsica (1895)
A Rebellious Heroine (1896)
Emblemland (1901)
Mollie and the Unwiseman (1902)
Olympian Nights (1902)
The Andiron Tales (1906)
Alice in Blunderland (1907)
The Whole Family: A Novel by Twelve Authors (1908)
The Autobiography of Methuselah (1909)
Mollie and the Unwiseman Abroad (1910)
Jack and the Checkbook (1911)
From Pillar to Post (1916)

The Jimmieboy Series
Tiddledywink Tales (1891)
The Tiddledywink’s Poetry Book (1892)
In Camp with a Tin Soldier (1892)
Half Hours with Jimmieboy (1893)
The Mantel-Piece Minstrels, and Other Stories (1896)
Bikey the Skicycle and Other Tales of Jimmieboy (1902)
Uncollected Jimmieboy Tales

The Raffles Series
Mrs. Raffles (1905)
R. Holmes & Co. (1906)

The Idiot Series
Coffee and Repartee (1893)
The Idiot (1895)
The Idiot at Home (1900)
The Inventions of the Idiot (1904)
The Genial Idiot (1908)
Half-Hours with the Idiot (1917)

Associated Shades Series
A House-Boat on the Styx (1895)
The Pursuit of the House-Boat (1897)
The Enchanted Type-Writer (1899)
Mr. Munchausen (1901)

Other Short Fiction
The Lorgnette (1886)
New Waggings of Old Tales by Two Wags (1888)
Three Weeks in Politics (1894)
The Water Ghost, and Others (1894)
The Paradise Club (1895)
Paste Jewels (1897)
Ghosts I Have Met and Some Others (1898)
Peeps at Peoples (1899)
The Dreamers: A Club (1899)
The Booming of Acre Hill and Other Reminiscences of Urban and Suburban Life (1900)
Over the Plum-Pudding (1901)
Potted Fiction (1908)
A Little Book of Christmas (1912)

The Plays
The Bicyclers, and Three Other Farces (1896)

The Poetry
Cobwebs from a Library Corner (1899)

The Non-Fiction
Uncle Sam, Trustee (1902)

You may also like…