Nevil Shute

$ 2.99

Nevil Shute was an English novelist and aeronautical engineer, who spent his later years living in Australia. His novels are written in a simple, highly readable style, with clearly delineated plots. An enduring theme of his novels is the dignity of work, spanning all classes. His famous novel ‘On the Beach’ (1957) reflects his pessimism for humanity in the atomic age, while ‘A Town like Alice’ (1950) tackles themes of emigration and racism, as the heroine seeks economic prosperity in a disadvantaged outback community. Several of Shute’s novels explore the boundary between accepted science and rational belief, on the one hand, and mystical or paranormal possibilities, on the other. The author is noted for his unique talent of weaving his technical knowledge of engineering into the texture of his narratives. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Shute’s complete works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this eBook is only for sale to customers living in or visiting Canada, China, Hong Kong, Pakistan, New Zealand, the Philippines, South Africa and any other 50 year countries due to copyright restrictions. European release year: 2031; Estimated American year: 2056

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Shute’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All 23 novels, with individual contents tables
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* The rare play script ‘Vinland the Good’
* Features Shute’s autobiography – discover his intriguing life
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: ‘The Seafarers’ was published many years after Shute’s death and so cannot appear in this collection, due to copyright restrictions.


The Novels
Marazan (1926)
So Disdained (1928)
Lonely Road (1932)
Ruined City (1938)
What Happened to the Corbetts (1938)
An Old Captivity (1940)
Landfall (1940)
Pied Piper (1942)
Pastoral (1944)
Most Secret (1945)
The Chequer Board (1947)
No Highway (1948)
A Town like Alice (1950)
Round the Bend (1951)
The Far Country (1952)
In the Wet (1953)
Requiem for a Wren (1955)
Beyond the Black Stump (1956)
On the Beach (1957)
The Rainbow and the Rose (1958)
Trustee from the Toolroom (1960)
Stephen Morris (1961)
Pilotage (1961)

The Film Script
Vinland the Good (1946)

The Autobiography
Slide Rule: Autobiography of an Engineer (1954)

You may also like…