Arnold Bennett

$ 2.99

The prolific novelist Arnold Bennett created a succession of stories that detailed life in the Staffordshire Potteries, which were to immortalise his beloved “Five Towns” and establish his name as one of the leading realist authors of Edwardian fiction. Now for the first time in publishing history, Delphi Classics is proud to present Bennett’s complete fictional works. This comprehensive eBook is complemented with numerous illustrations, many rare novels, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 2)

US Customers: the complete works is not available due to copyright restrictions. Please select the US version instead.

Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Bennett’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* ALL 36 novels, with individual contents tables
* Many rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Includes the extremely rare novelisation of Bennett’s screenplay of the film PICCADILLY, available nowhere else
* Even includes the author’s unfinished novel DREAM OF DESTINY, appearing here for the first time
* Images of how the books were first printed, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* All of the short story collections, including rare collections like THE WOMAN WHO STOLE EVERYTHING, available nowhere else
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Easily locate the short stories you want to read
* Includes a generous range of Bennett’s plays and non-fiction – spend hours exploring the author’s diverse oeuvre
* Even includes the engaging HOW TO BECOME AN AUTHOR, available in no other digital edition
* Special criticism section, with seminal essays by authors such as Henry James, Virginia Woolf and George Orwell, evaluating Bennett’s contribution to literature
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres
* UPDATED with a rare play and four more non fiction works

The Novels
A Man from the North (1898)
The Grand Babylon Hotel (1902)
Anna of the Five Towns (1902)
The Gates of Wrath (1903)
Leonora (1903)
A Great Man (1904)
Teresa of Watling Street (1904)
Sacred and Profane Love (1905)
Hugo (1906)
Whom God Hath Joined (1906)
The Sinews of War (1906)
The Ghost (1907)
The City of Pleasure (1907)
The Statue (1908)
Buried Alive (1908)
The Old Wives’ Tale (1908)
The Glimpse (1909)
Helen with the High Hand (1910)
Clayhanger (1910)
The Card (1911)
Hilda Lessways (1911)
The Regent (1913)
The Price of Love (1914)
These Twain (1916)
The Lion’s Share (1916)
The Pretty Lady (1918)
The Roll-Call (1918)
Mr Prohack (1922)
Lilian (1922)
Riceyman Steps (1923)
Lord Raingo (1926)
The Vanguard (1928)
Accident (1928)
Piccadilly: Story of the Film (1929)
Imperial Palace (1930)
Dream of Destiny (1932)

The Short Story Collections
Tales of the Five Towns (1905)
The Loot of Cities and Other Stories (1905)
The Grim Smile of the Five Towns (1907)
The Matador of the Five Towns, and Other Stories (1912)
Elsie and the Child, and Other Stories (1924)
The Woman Who Stole Everything, and Other Stories (1927)
The Night Visitor and Other Stories (1931)
Venus Rising from the Sea (1932)

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

The Plays
Polite Farces for the Drawing-Room (1899)
The Honeymoon (1911)
The Great Adventure (1913)
The Title (1918)
Judith (1922)

The Non Fiction
Journalism for Women: A Practical Guide (1898)
How to Become an Author: A Practical Guide (1903)
The Human Machine (1909)
Literary Taste: How to Form It (1909)
How to Live on 24 Hours a Day (1910)
The Feast of St. Friend (1911)
Those United States (1912)
The Arnold Bennett Calendar (1912)
The Plain Man and His Wife (1913)
From the Log of the Velsa (1914)
Paris Nights, and Other Impressions of Places and People (1914)
The Author’s Craft (1914)
Over There: War Scenes on the Western Front (1915)
Introduction to ‘In the Royal Naval Air Service’ (1916) by Harold Rosher
Books and Persons: Being Comments on a Past Epoch 1908-11 (1917)
Things that Interested Me: First Series (1921)
Things Which Interested Me: Second Series (1923)
Things Which Interested Me: Third Series (1926)

The Criticism
The New Novel (1914) by Henry James
The Mercy of Mr. Arnold Bennett (1923) by G. K. Chesterton
Character in Fiction (1924) by Virginia Woolf
Letter to Arnold Bennett (1924) by Joseph Conrad
An Extract from ‘The Road to Wigan Pier’ (1937) by George Orwell

You may also like…