Charles Williams

$ 3.99

Charles Williams was a British poet, novelist, playwright, theologian and literary critic, chiefly remembered today for his innovative fantasy novels. Along with Tolkien and C. S. Lewis, Williams was a member of the Inklings, a literary discussion group based in Oxford University, who were enthusiasts that praised the value of narrative in fiction and encouraged the writing of fantasy. Williams produced notable works in all literary formats, including compelling dramas, erudite non-fiction and sublime poetry. This eBook presents Williams’ complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, many rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is not for sale to customers located in the US. Please select the US version instead.

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Williams’ life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All the novels, with individual contents tables
* The rare unfinished novel, ‘The Noises That Weren’t There’, digitised here for the first time
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* The rare short story ‘Et in Sempiternum Pereant’
* The complete poems and plays for the first time in publishing history
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the poetry
* Easily locate the poems you want to read
* Includes a wide selection of Williams’ non-fiction– spend hours exploring the author’s varied works
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Novels
War in Heaven (1930)
Many Dimensions (1931)
The Place of the Lion (1931)
The Greater Trumps (1932)
Shadows of Ecstasy (1933)
Descent into Hell (1937)
All Hallows’ Eve (1945)
The Noises That Weren’t There (1970)

The Short Story
Et in Sempiternum Pereant (1935)

The Plays
The Chapel of the Thorn (1912)
The Masque of the Manuscript (1927)
The Masque of Perusal (1929)
The Masque of the Termination of Copyright (1930)
A Myth of Shakespeare (1930)
Three Plays (1929)
Thomas Cranmer of Canterbury (1936)
Seed of Adam (1937)
Judgement at Chelmsford (1939)
The Death of Good Fortune (1939)
The House by the Stable (1939)
Terror of Light (1940)
Grab and Grace (1941)
The Three Temptations (1942)
House of the Octopus (1945)

The Poetry Collections
The Silver Stair (1912)
Poems of Conformity (1917)
Divorce (1920)
Windows of Night (1924)
Heroes and Kings (1930)
Taliessin through Logres (1938)
The Region of the Summer Stars (1944)
Uncollected Poems

The Poems
List of Poems in Chronological Order
List of Poems in Alphabetical Order

The Non-Fiction
Victorian Narrative Verse (1927)
The English Poetic Mind (1932)
Bacon (1933)
Reason and Beauty in the Poetic Mind (1933)
James I (1934)
Rochester (1935)
Queen Elizabeth (1936)
Henry VII (1937)
He Came Down from Heaven (1938)
The Descent of the Dove (1939)
Witchcraft (1941)
The Figure of Beatrice (1943)
The Figure of Arthur (1948)

You may also like…