George Washington Cable

$ 2.99

George Washington Cable was an American author and reformer, noted for his stories dealing with Creole life in his native New Orleans. His early novels sought to recapture the picturesque times of the old French-Spanish city, while employing a realism that was new to Southern fiction. His works are characterised by freshness and charm, with a force of moral conviction. Although Cable was the son of slaveholders and fought in the Confederate cavalry, he saw slavery and attempts to deny freedmen full public rights as moral wrongs. He produced powerful essays and lectures, urging the cause of black rights in the face of violent abuse in the Southern press. Now regarded as the most important Southern writer of the late nineteenth century, Cable and his work would pave the way for the achievements of William Faulkner. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Cable’s complete works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Cable’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major works
* All 11 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features rare books appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Famous works are illustrated with their original artwork
* Rare short fiction available in no other collection
* Cable’s complete non-fiction, including the seminal essay ‘The Silent South’, first time in digital print
* Features a bonus biography
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Novels
The Grandissimes (1880)
Madame Delphine (1881)
Dr. Sevier (1882)
Bonaventure (1888)
John March, Southerner (1894)
The Cavalier (1901)
Bylow Hill (1902)
Kincaid’s Battery (1908)
Gideon’s Band (1914)
The Flower of the Chapdelaines (1917)
Lovers of Louisiana (1918)

The Shorter Fiction
Old Creole Days (1879)
Strange True Stories of Louisiana (1890)
Strong Hearts (1899)
Père Raphaël (1909)

The Non-Fiction
The Creoles of Louisiana (1884)
The Silent South (1885)
New Orleans (1889)
The Negro Question (1890)
The Busy Man’s Bible and How to Study and Teach It (1891)
A Memory of Roswell Smith (1892)
William Cullen Bryant (1911)
The Amateur Garden (1914)
The Dance in Place Congo (1917)

The Poem
A New Arrival (1882)

The Biography
George W. Cable (1901) by E. F. Harkins

You may also like…