Olaf Stapledon

$ 2.99

The English novelist and philosopher Olaf Stapledon wrote intriguing histories of the future, which served as a major influence on the development of the science fiction genre. His debut novel, ‘Last and First Men’, covers a history of 18 successive species of humanity, while his magnum opus ‘Star Maker’ provides an outline history of the Universe over two billion years. His works are highly acclaimed by figures as diverse as Brian Aldiss, Jorge Luis Borges, J. B. Priestley, Bertrand Russell, Algernon Blackwood, Arnold Bennett, Virginia Woolf, C. S. Lewis and Winston Churchill. Stapledon used his novels as vehicles to present complex and thought-provoking philosophical ideas, employing themes of antiquity to fashion a myth of the future. This comprehensive eBook presents Stapledon’s complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts appearing in digital print for the first time, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is not for sale to customers located in the US. (Estimated US release year 2046)


Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Stapledon’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels
* All 9 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare short stories, available in no other collection
* Includes Stapledon’s rare poetry collection
* A wide selection of Stapledon’s non-fiction
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: the posthumous works ‘Four Encounters’; ‘Nebula Maker’; ‘East is West’ and ‘The Man Who Became a Tree’ cannot appear due to copyright restrictions.


The Novels
Last and First Men (1930)
Last Men in London (1932)
Odd John (1935)
Star Maker (1937)
Darkness and the Light (1942)
Sirius (1944)
Death into Life (1946)
The Flames (1947)
A Man Divided (1950)

The Shorter Fiction
The Short Stories of Olaf Stapledon

The Poetry
Latter-Day Psalms (1914)

The Non-Fiction
A Modern Theory of Ethics (1929)
Waking World (1934)
Youth and Tomorrow (1946)
Interplanetary Man? (1948)

You may also like…