J. D. Beresford

$ 2.99

The interwar English writer J. D. Beresford is now remembered for his early science fiction, horror and ghost stories. A great admirer of H. G. Wells, he also wrote the first critical study of Wells in 1915. Beresford’s Wellsian novel ‘The Hampdenshire Wonder’ won critical acclaim and was a major influence on Olaf Stapledon. This eBook presents Beresford’s collected works, with numerous illustrations, many rare texts appearing in digital print for the first time and informative introductions. (Version 1)


Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Beresford’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* 12 novels, with individual contents tables
* The complete Jacob Stahl Trilogy, only available in this collection
* Features rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare short stories
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Easily locate the stories you want to read
* Includes Beresford’s seminal study on Wells
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Jacob Stahl Trilogy
The Early History of Jacob Stahl (1911)
A Candidate for Truth (1912)
The Invisible Event (1915)

Other Novels
The Hampdenshire Wonder (1911)
Goslings (1913)
The House in Demetrius Road (1914)
House Mates (1917)
The Jervaise Comedy (1919)
Revolution (1921)
The Prisoners of Hartling (1922)
Monkey Puzzle (1925)
The Tapestry (1927)

The Shorter Fiction
Nineteen Impressions (1918)
Signs and Wonders (1921)
Miscellaneous Stories

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

The Non-Fiction
H. G. Wells (1915)

You may also like…