H. G. Wells

$ 3.99

Widely regarded as the father of science fiction, H. G. Wells was also a prolific author of history, politics and social commentary, whose works from an early date were renowned for their outspoken socialist views. For the first time in publishing history, this comprehensive eBook presents Wells’ complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare novels and tales, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. Parts Edition is available for this title. (Version 8)

US Customers: the complete works is not available due to copyright restrictions. Please select the US version instead.



* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Wells’ life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* ALL 52 novels, with individual contents tables
* Many rare novels appearing for the first time in digital print
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* All of the short stories – including rare tales available in no other collection
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Easily locate the short stories you want to read
* Includes a wide selection of Wells’ non-fiction – spend hours exploring the author’s varied works
* Special criticism essay, evaluating Wells’ contribution to literature
* Features Wells’ autobiography – discover Wells’ literary life
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres
* UPDATED with 11 more non-fiction works and 10 more criticism essays


The Novels
The Time Machine (1895)
The Wonderful Visit (1895)
The Island of Doctor Moreau (1896)
The Wheels of Chance (1896)
The Invisible Man (1897)
The War of the Worlds (1898)
When the Sleeper Wakes (1899)
Love and Mr. Lewisham (1899)
The First Men in the Moon (1901)
The Sea Lady (1902)
The Food of the Gods and How It Came to Earth (1904)
Kipps (1905)
A Modern Utopia (1905)
In the Days of the Comet (1906)
The War in the Air (1908)
Tono-Bungay (1909)
Ann Veronica (1909)
The History of Mr. Polly (1910)
The Sleeper Awakes (1910)
The New Machiavelli (1911)
Marriage (1912)
The Passionate Friends (1913)
The Wife of Sir Isaac Harman (1914)
The World Set Free (1914)
Bealby (1915)
Boon (1915)
The Research Magnificent (1915)
Mr. Britling Sees It Through (1916)
The Soul of a Bishop (1917)
Joan and Peter (1918)
The Undying Fire (1919)
The Secret Places of the Heart (1922)
Men Like Gods (1923)
The Dream (1924)
Christina Alberta’s Father (1925)
The World of William Clissold (1916)
Meanwhile (1927)
Mr. Blettsworthy on Rampole Island (1928)
The King who was a King (1929)
The Autocracy of Mr. Parham (1930)
The Bulpington of Blup (1932)
The Shape of Things to Come (1933)
The Croquet Player (1936)
Brynhild (1937)
Star Begotten (1937)
The Camford Visitation (1937)
Apropos of Dolores (1938)
The Brothers (1938)
The Holy Terror (1939)
Babes in the Darkling Wood (1939)
All Aboard for Ararat (1940)
You Can’t Be Too Careful (1942)

The Short Story Collections
Early Short Stories
Select Conversations with an Uncle (1895)
The Stolen Bacillus and Other Incidents (1895)
The Plattner Story and Others (1897)
Tales of Space and Time (1899)
Twelve Stories and a Dream (1903)
The Country of the Blind and Other Stories (1911)
The Door in the Wall and Other Stories (1911)
Uncollected Short Stories

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

The Non-Fiction
Text-Book of Biology (1893)
Certain Personal Matters (1897)
Anticipations of the Reactions of Mechanical and Scientific Progress upon Human Life and Thought (1901)
The Discovery of the Future (1902)
Mankind in the Making (1903)
Preface to ‘Underground Man’ (1905) by Gabriel Tarde
The Things that Live on Mars (1905)
The Future in America (1906)
This Misery of Boots (1907)
Socialism and the Family (1908)
New Worlds for Old (1908)
First and Last Things (1908)
Floor Games (1911)
Little Wars (1913)
The War that Will End War (1914)
An Englishman Looks at the World (1914)
Scientific War (1915)
What is Coming? (1916)
The Elements of Reconstruction (1916)
Introduction to ‘Nocturne’ (1917) by Frank Swinnerton
God the Invisible King (1917)
War and the Future (1917)
In the Fourth Year (1918)
The Importance of Being a Woman (1918)
The Idea of a League of Nations (1919)
The Outline of History (1920)
Russia in the Shadows (1920)
The New Teaching of History (1921)
The Salvaging of Civilization (1921)
Introduction to ‘The Pivot of Civilization’ (1922) by Margaret Sanger
A Short History of the World (1922)
Washington and the Hope of Peace (1922)
The Gifts of the New Sciences (1924)
The Story of a Great Schoolmaster (1924)
A Year of Prophesying (1925)
Mr. Belloc Objects to “The Outline of History” (1926)
The Open Conspiracy (1928)
Marxism vs. Liberalism (1934)
The Anatomy of Frustration (1936)
World Brain (1938)
The Future of the Jews (1938)
World of Tomorrow (1939)
The Fate of Homo Sapiens (1939)
The New World Order (1940)
The Common Sense of War and Peace (1940)
Crux Ansata (1943)
Mind at the End of Its Tether (1945)

The Criticism
Mr. H. G. Wells and the Giants (1905) by G. K. Chesterton
H. G. Wells on the Rest of Us (1909) by George Bernard Shaw
H. G. Wells (1909) by Arnold Bennett
H. G. Wells (1915) by J. D. Beresford
Wells and the World State (1922) by G. K. Chesterton
Mr. Bennett and Mrs. Brown (1924) by Virginia Woolf
An Extract from ‘Joseph Conrad: A Personal Remembrance’ (1924) by Ford Madox Ford
H. G. Wells: Dreaming for the World (1926) by Stuart Pratt Sherman
Mr. Belloc Still Objects to Mr. Wells’s “Outline of History” (1926) by Hilaire Belloc
Another Outline (1934) by Olaf Stapledon
Wells, Hitler and the World State (1941) by George Orwell

The Autobiography
Experiment in Autobiography (1934)


You may also like…