Peter Cheyney – US version

$ 2.99

The British crime fiction writer Peter Cheyney is the creator of the American FBI agent Lemmy Caution and the English detective Slim Callaghan. These characters were constructed as a British response to the hardboiled detectives of American fiction. In later years Cheyney’s style matured with the ‘Dark’ books, drawing wide praise during World War II for bringing more realism to espionage fiction. Although his works have suffered neglect in recent times, the fame of Cheyney’s novels in the post-war period cannot be underestimated, having sold over 5 million copies. This eBook presents Cheyney’s collected works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

Please note: this product is only for sale to customers located in US. Other readers can purchase the Complete Works version.

Look inside eBook...
Look inside eBook...


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Cheyney’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* All 29 novels available in the US public domain, with individual contents tables
* Features rare novels and story collections
* The complete short stories
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Rare uncollected tales appearing here for the first time in digital publishing
* Easily locate the stories you want to read
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: due to US copyright restrictions, 12 novels cannot appear in this edition. When new works enter the public domain, they will be added to the collection as a free update.


The Lemmy Caution Novels
This Man is Dangerous (1936)
Poison Ivy (1937)
Dames Don’t Care (1937)
Can Ladies Kill? (1938)
Don’t Get Me Wrong (1939)
You’d be Surprised (1940)
Never a Dull Moment (1942)
You Can Always Duck (1943)
G-Man at the Yard (1946)

The Slim Callaghan Stories
The Urgent Hangman (1938)
Dangerous Curves (1939)
You Can’t Keep the Change (1940)
It Couldn’t Matter Less (1941)
Sorry You’ve Been Troubled (1942)
Calling Mr. Callaghan (1953)

The Dark Series
Dark Duet (1942)
The Stars are Dark (1943)
The Dark Street (1944)
Dark Hero (1946)
Dark Bahama (1950)
Ladies Won’t Wait (1951)

Other Novels
The Vengeance of Hop Fi (1928)
The Curiosity of Etienne MacGregor (1928)
The Gold Kimono (1931)
Death Chair (1931)
The Deadly Fresco (1932)
The Sign on the Roof (1935)
Another Little Drink (1940)
Night Club (1945)

The Short Story Collections
You Can’t Hit a Woman (1937)
Knave Takes Queen (1939)
Mr. Caution — Mr. Callaghan (1941)
Making Crime Pay (1944)
No Ordinary Cheyney (1948)
Velvet Johnnie (1952)
The Adventures of Julia (1954)
He Walked in Her Sleep (1954)
The Mystery Blues (1954)
Miscellaneous Stories

The Short Stories
List of Short Stories in Chronological Order
List of Short Stories in Alphabetical Order

You may also like…